Endowed chairs

The first endowed chair in gerontology dates from 1968 and was filled by Professor Schreuder at the University of Utrecht (then called Rijksuniversiteit Utrecht). Numerous endowed chairs followed that were established by the Netherlands Society for Gerontology. NVG-KNOWS strives to continue to support endowed chairs.

professor Marjolein Broese van GroenouFrom 2011 to 2014, Prof. Marjolein Broese van Groenou became the NVG-KNOWS chair in ‘Informal care from a gerontological perspective’ at the VU University, Amsterdam, Faculty of Social Sciences. She continues to work here as a Professor in Sociology.


As of the 1st of December 2002, Prof. Ruud Kempen became professor with a chair in Social Gerontology at the Faculty of Health, Medicine and Life Sciences, Maastricht University. His research focused primarily on explaining and encouraging independence and quality of life in older adults. In December 2008, this endowed chair was turned into a permanent professorship in Social Gerontology.


professor Wiebo BrouwerIn 2001, Prof. Wiebo Brouwer became professor at the University of Groningen, with the NVG chair in ‘Cognition and compensation in the ageing person’.
Professor Brouwer now works as a professor at the Faculty of Medical Sciences at the University of Groningen with an endowed chair supported by the Central Bureau for Driving Skills (CBR).


professor Thea HeerenFrom 1993 to 2006, Prof. Thea Heeren was professor with an endowed chair in psychogeriatrics at the University of Utrecht. Her work focused on the psychopathology in the third phase of life.


Professor Betto DeelmanIn 1992, Prof. Betto Deelman became professor with an endowed chair in Neuropsychology at the University of Groningen. Em. Prof. Deelman retired in 2001.